Judges of the Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards

We extend a special thanks to the international panel of journalists who helped launch our first annual climate journalism awards.

The first annual Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards honored exemplary coverage of the defining story of our time.

A jury of distinguished journalists came together to review nearly 600 entries from journalists and media entities in 38 countries. They selected winning entries in print, digital, audio, video, and multimedia formats that are rooted in science, humanize the climate story, and hold power to account.

Covering Climate Now and Columbia Journalism Review launched the awards to celebrate journalism that provides a model for journalists everywhere as newsrooms increase their coverage of the climate crisis. Learn more about the awards, view the finalists and get streaming information here.

Here are the judges that participated:


  • Neela Banerjee, NPR News
  • Neil Barsky, The Marshall Project
  • Jeff Berardelli, CBS News
  • Zoe Carpenter, The Nation
  • Tom Casciato, Independent Filmmaker/Journalist
  • Sewell Chan, LA Times
  • Sam Eaton, Freelance
  • Zinhle Essamuah, NowThis
  • Mark Fischetti, Scientific American
  • Brendan Fitzgerald, Columbia Journalism Review
  • Gabrielle Fonseca Johnson, Reuters
  • Michael Gavshon, CBS News 60 Minutes
  • David Gelber, YEARS Project
  • Jeff Goodell, Rolling Stone
  • Eugenia Harvey, WNET Peril & Promise
  • Vanessa Hauc, Noticias Telemundo
  • Laura Helmuth, Scientific American
  • Mark Hertsgaard, Covering Climate Now
  • Katrina vanden Heuvel, The Nation
  • Anna Hiatt, Covering Climate Now
  • Sean Holman, Mount Royal University
  • Sophie Huet, Agence France-Presse
  • Dianna Hunt, Indian Country Today
  • Brian Kahn, Earther
  • Karin Kamp, Covering Climate Now
  • Kathy Kiely Missouri School of Journalism
  • Richard Kim, Huffpost
  • Gina Kim, Amanpour on PBS
  • Allegra Kirkland, Teen Vogue
  • Emily Laber-Warren, CUNY
  • Andrew Laxon, New Zealand Herald
  • Suzanne Levy, KPCC
  • Amanda Mars, El Pais
  • Andrew McCormick, Covering Climate Now
  • Erin McGarry, NBC News
  • Oliver Milman, The Guardian
  • John Morales, NBC 6 Miami
  • Jamie Morton, New Zealand Herald
  • Al Ortiz, CBS News
  • Kyle Pope, Columbia Journalism Review
  • Andrew Revkin, Earth Institute
  • Aaron Rutkoff, Bloomberg Green
  • Mark Schapiro, UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism
  • David Schechter, WFAA-TV
  • Kate Sheppard, HuffPost
  • Linda Solomon Wood, National Observer
  • Nikhil Swaminathan, Grist
  • Peter Thomson, Radio Journalist
  • Sharon Tiller, TV Journalist
  • Dick Tofel, ProPublica
  • Giles Trendle, Al Jazeera English
  • Jonathan Watts, The Guardian
  • Fara Warner, Solutions Journalism Network
  • Sunil Warrier, Times of India
  • Amy Westervelt, Drilled News
  • Bernadette Woods Placky, Climate Central
  • Justin Worland, TIME
  • Noa Yachot, The Guardian